Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Saint John Board of Trade announces the Finalists for the 28th Annual Outstanding Business Achievement Awards

SAINT JOHN, NB – The Saint John Board of Trade proudly announces the finalists for Greater Saint John’s Outstanding Business Achievement Awards. The awards dinner, Saint John’s Premiere annual business event, and presentations will take place at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 3rd, 2012 at the Saint John Trade and Convention Centre.

From a field of over 90 nominees, the five-member judging panel has selected Cochran’s Country Market and Innovatia as the finalists for the Business Excellence award. The finalists for the Entrepreneurial Achievement award honour are Element5 Spa and Master Promotions. The finalists for the Emerging Enterprise award are Hemmings House Pictures and Piece-O-Cake.

The recipient of this year’s Young Entrepreneur Award is Dave Wolpin, the owner of Kredls, Wolpin Enterprises and Dave’s Produce Packs.

Now in its 28th year, the Outstanding Business Achievement Awards event recognizes businesses and business people in the community that have aided business development, entrepreneurship and increased economic progress in Greater Saint John.

The Entrepreneurial Achievement award is designed to recognize a company or individual that has started a business, considerably improved a company, or modified an existing enterprise.

The Business Excellence award focuses on established companies that have achieved highly in management quality, sales growth, community relations, marketing and leadership.

The Emerging Enterprise award recognizes new businesses just beginning to make their mark. To be eligible for this award, companies must have been in business less than five years.

The Young Entrepreneur Award recognizes young business leaders (30 years and under) just beginning to make their mark.

Previous winners of the awards, presented annually since 1985, have included: Lingley Printing Co. Ltd; Tabufile Atlantic Ltd; Pete’s Frootique; Mother Nature’s Pita Bakery & Restaurant; Bourque Manufacturing Ltd; Eastern Technical Services Ltd; Fundy Computer Services Ltd; Moosehead Breweries Ltd; Hunter Marketing & Communications; Beattie Construction Services Ltd; Thirtysomething Enterprises Inc (The Body Shop); Gardner Electric Ltd; NBTel; Kelly Tire Services Ltd; Mitchell, McConnell, Daniels Insurance Brokers Ltd; PCL & Eastern Packaging Limited; Aquila Tours/Destination Marketing; Baxter Foods Limited; Brenan Group Ltd; DMR Consulting Group Inc; Maritime Aqua Service; New North Media; Delta Brunswick Hotel; Senior Watch Inc; Appleby’s Image Center; Discount Car & Truck Rentals; The Document Company Xerox; Impact Forensic Analysis Inc;; Java Moose; Irving Oil, Refining Division; Funeral Directors’ Choice; Meridian Construction Inc; Media Planet; Eastern Collections Services Ltd; Cendant Canada Inc; Here Publishing Inc; CAA Maritimes; National Leasing, Rent-a-Chef Inc; H.E.L.P. Educational Services Ltd; Simply for Life; Cooke Aquaculture; Fundy Engineering & Consulting Ltd; ADI Limited; Brovada Technologies; Evolving Solutions; Mariner Partners; CentreBeam Inc; Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc; Maritime Rescue and Medical Inc; East Point Inc.; Lorneville Mechanical Contractors; Jacques Whitford Limited; Vision Coaching; The DPL Group; Fundy Region Solid Waste Commission; Opera Bistro; Dillon Consulting; Kelson & Kelson; ClinicServer; Go-Go Gymnastics Inc; Punch Productions; and Bayview Trucks & Equipment Ltd.

Previous recipients of the Young Entrepreneur Award were Ji Li, Greg Hemmings, Tao Tao Liu, Marc Robichaud, Leah Anderson, Jenny Scott, James Galbraith, Kiera Fraser, and Keith Brideau.

This year’s winners will be announced at the awards dinner on October 3rd Tickets for the awards dinner may be obtained from the Saint John Board of Trade.

No comments: